Hero Decal

Welcome to the Shire of MERREDIN


The Merredin Shire Council has a vision for Merredin to be a vibrant rural centre offering a comprehensive range of regional services which improve the quality of life of the people within the Shire and Central Wheatbelt.

The Shire of Merredin as a regional centre provides not only the residents of Merredin with essential services and facilities necessary for a high quality lifestyle, but also supports the residents from the surrounding towns and localities.

As the Central Wheatbelt Regional Service Centre, Merredin is the Heart of the Wheatbelt and is a hub of activity whose growth and prosperity stems from a natural advantage of our location on major transport and water lines halfway between Kalgoorlie and Perth and a multicultural and innovative community. Merredin has grown in response to cyclic patterns of prosperity associated with mining, railways, agriculture and defence.

The Wheatbelt region is a beautiful place which provides many opportunities for local people and tourists to enhance their knowledge, appreciation and involvement in the many attractions that abound in the Shire. Merredin ‘place of the Merrit trees’, is set in the vast rolling spaces of the Wheatbelt. Between perennial blue skies, cyclical spring greens and summer golds, framed by the copper coloured dignity of salmon gums, the town presents a garden sanctuary in hectares of grain.

This Shire is committed to servicing our community in the best way possible.

Committee Representation

Councillor Fees and Allowances

Annual & Primary Returns

Notice is hereby given that due to the resignation of Deputy President Leah Boehme, a vacancy has arisen in the Shire of Merredin Council.This vacancy was considered by Council at the 2022 August Ordinary Council Meeting, with a decision made to allow the position to remain vacant due to the number of councillors being reduced to 7 with the new Local Government Reform.

Council held a vote at the 2022 August Ordinary Council Meeting and appointed Cr Donna Crook as Deputy President.

Cr Mark McKenzie
0438 050 692
Cr Donna Crook
Deputy President
0400 264 168
Cr Ross Billing
0439 964 466
Cr Julie Flockart
0428 416 666
Cr Renee Manning
0408 887 213
Cr Romolo Patroni
0428 401 014
Cr Megan Simmonds
0439 411 147
Cr Phil Van Der Merwe
0428 415 308