Hero Decal

Welcome to the Shire of MERREDIN

Community Citizen of the Year Awards

Published on Friday, 9 February 2024 at 12:49:56 PM

A key aspect of Australia Day are the Community Citizen of the Year (CoTY) Awards which are presented annually on this day. Shire President Mark McKenzie had the honour of announcing the nominees and winners of the awards for this year as follows;

Citizen of the Year;

The nominees were announced as Jasmin Cockram, Stephen Crook, Chesney Maloney, Chloe Flockart, Sheree Lowe and Debbie Morris. The winner was Stephen Crook, for demonstrating unwavering support for the local Bush Fire Service for over two decades, serving in various capacities, including Deputy and Chief Bush Fire Control Officer. Stephen was also recognised for his commitment as a member of the Merredin District Lawn Tennis Club for over four decades, serving in multiple leadership positions and representing the club at the Central Districts Zone Tennis Association.

Young Citizen of the Year;
The nominees included Bailey Smith, Jack Truglio and Darcie Jolly. The winner was announced as Darcie Jolly, who was nominated because she is a role model for youth in the Merredin Community. She has supported the development of sport and young people’s engagement in sport in Merredin. Darcey has been an advocate for youth in Merredin through her work with the Merredin Youth committee. She has held committee positions at the Merredin Netball Association, Titans Netball Club, Nukarni Football Club, and Nukarni Netball.

Community Citizen of the Year (Senior)

Audiene McCrae won this award, and she was nominated because she actively contributes to the Merredin community in a variety of ways, including coordinating the Senior’s Games with Merredin Merinos, being on the Merredin Senior Centre Committee and volunteering at many Merredin Community events.

Active Citizenship (group or event);

Finally, there were two nominees for the Active citizenship award which were St John WA – Merredin Branch and Merredin Show Committee.  The winner was the Merredin Show Committee, who are responsible for planning and delivering the Merredin Show each year. They are a group of volunteers who give many hours throughout the year to ensure the success of the event.


Back to All News