2017 Local Government Elections

Local government ordinary elections are held on the third Saturday in October every two years.

The next local government ordinary election will be held on 21 October 2017 with Councillors elected for a four year term. There will be four Councillor positions becoming vacant, being Councillors Blakers, Flockart, Willis and Young.

At its December 2016 meeting Council resolved (CMRef 81895) in accordance with Section 4.20(4) of the Local Government Act 1995 that the Electoral Commissioner be responsible for conducting the 2017 ordinary election via way of postal vote.

By making the Electoral Commissioner responsible for the election, Council can ensure that the election is conducted independently and with impartiality. Additionally, postal elections are generally more convenient for many electors and typically result in a higher rate of voter participation than in-person ballots.

Electoral rolls will close at 5.00pm, 50 days prior to polling day. All electors should check their enrolment details are up to date before rolls close. You should contact the WA Electoral Commission to do this https://www.elections.wa.gov.au/.

If the number of candidates is equal to the number of vacancies, the candidate is elected unopposed. If there are more candidates than vacancies, the election will proceed.

All eligible electors will receive a postal voting package around three weeks prior to polling day. The package will include a list of candidates, ballot papers, instructions on how to vote and a declaration. To vote, follow the instructions included in the package.

The Returning Officer must receive your postal voting package before 6.00pm on polling day. If you do not think that your postal voting package can be returned by post in time, you can deliver it by hand to a polling official.

While voting in a local government election is not compulsory in Western Australia, all electors are strongly encouraged to vote.

If being a Shire Councillor is something that interests you, it is time to start giving it a thought.

Councillors represent the interests of the ratepayers and residents of the district and provide leadership and guidance to the community. They facilitate communication between the community and Shire, and participate in the Shire’s decision making process.

Electors who wish to nominate as a candidate in the election must complete a valid nomination application and present it to the Returning Officer before nominations close. Nominations for the election open 44 days before polling day and close at 4.00pm, 37 days before polling day.

The Department of Local Government, Sports and Cultural Industries has a number of resources available on their website https://www.dlgc.wa.gov.au/AdviceSupport/Pages/Local-government-elections.aspx including Fact Sheets for prospective Councillors with information on what to expect as a Councillor.

WALGA will also be conducting a webinar Information Session for Candidates which will be held on Tuesday 8 August 2017 from 5pm.  This will be viewable in Council Chamber so if you're interested in standing for Council, you are encouraged to attend this session.

  • View Request for Tender - Design & Construction of CEACA Inc Housing

    Request for Tender - Design & Construction of CEACA Inc Housing

    Tender T2017133 for the design and construction of 75 independent living units across 11 Shires for CEACA Inc is currently available

    Read More

  • View Change in Media & Communications

    Change in Media & Communications

    There will be some changes to the way our social media platforms are monitored over the next few months.

    Read More